In 1967, the section of Radiology was created as a separate entity from the Departments of Large Animal Surgery and Medicine and Small Animal Surgery and Medicine. This established an identifiable administrative unit under the leadership of Dr. J. E. Bartels with maintenance and operation funding allowing growth of this emerging specialty.  From 1967 to 1977, the professional academic program, a graduate program and clinical series including radiation therapy were developed. A 3-year resident training program leading to American College of Veterinary Radiology  (ACVR) board certification was established and has been continuously approved by the ACVR since 1972. Based on the quality of the professional academic program, the graduate courses offered, and clinical service, department status was granted in 1978.

In addition to diagnostic radiology for small and large animals, the section also offers examinations with ultrasonography, nuclear medicine, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging as well as radiation therapy treatments. The diagnostic radiology examinations for the majority of the small animal and large animal examinations are acquired utilizing state-of-the-art digital plates. This digital radiology system allows individual views to be acquired and viewed in as little as 4 seconds greatly reducing patient exam time.  In addition a helical computed tomography scanner has been installed that will also reduce patient exam time for this procedure.

All of the images from the digitally acquired diagnostic radiology along with the images from all ultrasound, nuclear medicine, computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging are stored in the computer system and are able to viewed throughout the large and small animal hospitals.

The Holland Ware Diagnostic Imaging Center was built in 1990 to house computed tomography and magnetic resonance imaging scanners becoming the first veterinary institution to have both of these imaging modalities on site. The Linear Accelerator Laboratory was built in 1997 to support the Oncology service with linear accelerator radiation therapy equipment . In 2000, the Department of Radiology merged with the Departments of Large Animal Surgery and Medicine and Small Animal Surgery and Medicine to form the Department of Clinical Sciences and is now 1 of 5 sections in this newly created department.

The John T. Vaughan Large Animal Teaching Hospital opened in 2003 and a new diagnostic x ray unit was acquired.  In addition to the diagnostic x-ray suite, adjacent nuclear medicine and ultrasound suites were built as part of the imaging area of this new hospital.

The section of Radiology now consists of 5 Diplomates of the American College of Veterinary Radiology (ACVR), 3 residents pursuing board certification and 6 technologists. 



© 2009 Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine